Google+

Burnt Food

1

February 26, 2013 by Emma Bentley

1277641_605358639514627_1249667355_o

It has long baffled me how something so popular in one country can remain relatively unknown in another, even though it is only a short jump across a bit of water away. Supper clubs. In London, they’re everywhere. They offer new perspectives to the somewhat stuffy restaurant scene. They can offer insights into new cuisines and inroads for new friendships – especially valuable if you’ve just moved to Paris or are a single traveller. Well, now it’s time for the hunter to become the hunted. I’m putting my neck on the line.

The idea is that every month, six total strangers arrive at Burnt Cream HQ for supper. The name of these events is “Burnt Food” … because I like to keep expectations low. I’ve been doing this on a regular and completely open basis since October 2012. You can come by yourself or with a friend. At first, it was largely friends or acquaintances of mine, but the word has spread and I’ve now hosted an eclectic mix of Canadians, French, Brits, Italians, Americans, Japanese, Australians… some live in Paris and others are just passing through. The only thing that’s sure is that it’s going to be a fun evening, interesting conversation and you’re not going to leave hungry.

The menu is dictated according to whatever is available at the market that morning. Come, enjoy a great evening, meet some interesting people and let your tastebuds take over. 

One thought on “Burnt Food

  1. […] first one is being held in my apartment – where I often hold supper clubs and wine tastings, if you didn’t already know – but I’m hoping that as time goes […]

Comments are closed.

Who’s Emma?


Hi! I live and work on a small winery in northern Italy but I also love to cook and eat. Welcome to the blog.

I’ve Moved

Because I no longer live in Paris, the blog has been given a complete rehaul. It's still a work in progress. Please excuse any broken links or typos.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,734 other followers

Instagram

Waves of #culatello! ...
#salumi #salami #charcuterie #italy "Careful! Watch out for the #dog. He drools and licks anyone!" 🐕 ...
#neighbourhood #myneighbourhood #friendlydog #dogsofinstagram #ineedoneofthose #italy

My Other Blog: Got Legs

“Vintage 2017 Report” Or “How To Protect Against Frost”

“Vintage 2017 Report” Or “How To Protect Against Frost”

It’s becoming an all-too-familiar scenario: a beautiful springtime with plenty of warm sunshine but followed by a sudden dip and freezing temperatures. A cold winter does marvels for the vineyard but once bud-burst has taken place, a cold snap can have catastrophic results. You may remember that I wrote about this already in 2016. Vintage 2016: […]

