Google+

Café A, 75010

Leave a comment

August 4, 2013 by Emma Bentley

IMG_20130805_135233

The most amazing space. A great discovery that I only stumbled upon by chance.

The café is situated in a large courtyard, tucked behind an old convent, in the bustling 10th arrondissement. Yet the only factor reminding you that you’re just adjacent to the Gare de l’Est is the slight traffic noise. On a Saturday morning however, especially in August, it’s fairly minimal.

There is a brunch menu for 28 euros – I saw yoghurts, watermelon and baguette going by, but the bottles of Tabasco Sauce I saw suggested something more substantial. I was just there for a coffee. In that case, my waitress explains, “you have to sit on the deckchairs.” Sorry?! I asked again to make sure I’d understood correctly. For just 2€30, the price of my espresso, I have to lie on a deck-chair, under a canopy of sun-shades and leafy trees. Oh, life is so hard!

Sitting in front of me are two chatty, elderly French ladies (but not the type who have little dogs in their handbags) and to my right, sitting on the bench, are a young French couple who haven’t realised that they’re no longer in the privacy of their bedroom… if you know what I mean….

There’s a breeze that circulates, a general chatter and clinking of cutlery, along with the sound of the two waitresses walking over the white gravel.

If you’re not going away on holiday this summer, come here! I promise that after just 45 minutes, you’ll feel like you’ve had a week away at a gorgeous hotel on the sea front, and after any longer than an hour, you’ll even start mistaking traffic noise for waves lapping at the shore.

It’s the ultimate get-away without going anywhere. A moment très insolite and most definitely to be recommended!

 


Essential Information

Address: 148 rue du Faubourg St Antoine, 75010 
Telephone: 09 81 29 83 38
WebsiteFacebook
Opening Hours: Tuesday-Friday 10am – midnight, Sat 12.30-midnight. Closed Sunday and Monday. (likely to change.) 

Leave a Reply

Who’s Emma?


Hi! I live and work on a small winery in northern Italy but I also love to cook and eat. Welcome to the blog.

I’ve Moved

Because I no longer live in Paris, the blog has been given a complete rehaul. It's still a work in progress. Please excuse any broken links or typos.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,734 other followers

Instagram

Waves of #culatello! ...
#salumi #salami #charcuterie #italy "Careful! Watch out for the #dog. He drools and licks anyone!" 🐕 ...
#neighbourhood #myneighbourhood #friendlydog #dogsofinstagram #ineedoneofthose #italy

My Other Blog: Got Legs

“Vintage 2017 Report” Or “How To Protect Against Frost”

“Vintage 2017 Report” Or “How To Protect Against Frost”

It’s becoming an all-too-familiar scenario: a beautiful springtime with plenty of warm sunshine but followed by a sudden dip and freezing temperatures. A cold winter does marvels for the vineyard but once bud-burst has taken place, a cold snap can have catastrophic results. You may remember that I wrote about this already in 2016. Vintage 2016: […]

