Google+

Beaucoup, 75003

Leave a comment

October 16, 2013 by Emma Bentley

603006_409812082435223_89202716_n

Contemporary. Crafted. Refreshing. A great addition to the Paris restaurant scene.

Kicking the evening off with a mezcalito, our tastebuds were blown away by the combination of smoke and spice and the strength of the cocktail. Not for the faint-hearted or the French, but delicious for me and my Mexican dining partner.

With bated breath, I waited for my crab ravioli starter to arrive. Beautiful presentation. Paired beautifully with my friend’s father’s Pernand Vergelesses.

I then chose the special of the day: magret de canard, potatoes and a truffle jus. At 22€, my purse would have felt less affronted had it also been served with a vegetable on the side, but in any case, the duck was delicious. The Mexican’s white tuna was cooked to perfection too.

Other main courses on offer include the Beaucoup Burger, which deserves just a passing mention because I’m bored of seeing burgers on restaurant menus. Although I welcome the overall trend with open arms and an greedy stomach, I don’t think they have a place in restaurants of this standing.

Anyway, next was the moelleux au chocolat, which caused a bit of controversy around the table. The true faithful maintain that with a good moelleux, it’s supposed to be gooey, with some melted-choco-butter that oozes out when you break into it. This one didn’t and therefore took my friend’s criticism of being over-cooked. For a chocolate lover such as myself, I fully accept that point of…. “sorry, what were you saying? I got distracted when someone put a chocolate pudding in front of me.” 😉

And do you know the other great thing about this place? It’s open 7 days a week, for lunch and dinner. And not only can you have wine or cocktails with your meal, there’s also a cool cocktail bar upstairs (Le Démon) for your before-or-after dinner drinks!

You come for the cocktails, the elegant food and the cheap wine… and you leave rather tipsy.

 


Essential Information

Address: 7 rue Froissart, 75003
Telephone: 01 42 77 38 47
Website:Beaucoup, Facebook, Le Démon
Opening Hours: lunch and dinner, seven days a week.
Reservations: not essential.
Suggested footwear: do you have a nice pair of brogues…?

 
Leave a Reply

Who’s Emma?


Hi! I live and work on a small winery in northern Italy but I also love to cook and eat. Welcome to the blog.

I’ve Moved

Because I no longer live in Paris, the blog has been given a complete rehaul. It's still a work in progress. Please excuse any broken links or typos.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,756 other followers

Instagram

This is how #Sardinia does a Caprese Salad: tomato, ricotta, basil pesto and bottarga! 
#italy #insalatacaprese #bottarga #eatlocal #eatseasonal #castelsardo #ilcormorano Blue on blue - no filters needed in #Sardinia!
#beach #sea #swimming #holidays #summer #blue #nature

My Other Blog: Got Legs

Jura – still so much to be discovered

Jura – still so much to be discovered

I was in the Jura region last month on a quick getaway with my boyfriend and the dog. It was not my first time in the region, but it was my first stay long enough to develop a decent understanding of the land, its people and their wine. The Jura is in a small pocket […]

