Google+

Un Dimanche à Paris, 75006

1

November 20, 2013 by Emma Bentley

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I popped by this Saint Germain institution to duck out of a particularly heavy April shower (2012.) In a fortunate turn of fate, it so happened that I had my camera on me and thus, here is the long-overdue write up of “Un Dimanche à Paris“, the chocolate-lovers heaven, just off the boulevard Saint Germain.

As fate would have it, I clearly wasn’t the only person to be caught short without an umbrella and there was already a queue forming for a table in the adjoining salon du thé. Nevertheless, this was not going to put me off. I decided to order a pastry and a coffee and to perch at the counter in the boutique shop, which suited me just fine.
I ordered a multi-layered choux pastry, comprising of cream, pistachios and a hidden layer of red-fruit-and-cherry compote.
It was delicious – but do you know why I will recommend Un Dimanche to anybody at the drop of a hat… the service was so exceptionnally good! I don’t think I’ve had such friendly people serving me in a very long time. Whereas Larnicol, just around the corner, is a self-service affair, Un Dimanche adopts a rather more sleek and minimal approach.

October 2013 Update: I have been back several times since and, quite honestly, I’m not as enamoured as I was back in April. Truth be told, I have had fairly mixed experiences there. One time, for example, there was just my friend and I in the shop when the sales assistant took off on an enormous argument with the boss. So awkward it was, that we turned tail and scarpered out as fast as we could.

However, the food is tip-top-du-hip-hop and I still consider it an address to be cherished for any chocolate-lovers in Paris.


Essential Information

Address: 4-6-8 Cour du Commerce Saint André, 75006
Telephone: 01 56 81 18 08
WebsiteUn Dimanche a Paris, Facebook
Opening Hours: Monday 12 noon-8pm, Tuesday-Saturday 11am-8pm, Sunday 11am-7pm. 

 

One thought on “Un Dimanche à Paris, 75006

  1. […] Un Dimanche a Paris, 8 Cour de Commerces Saint Andre, 75006 – rather touristy but it is an incontournable for chocolate in Paris in my book. (Lots of chocolate rabbits and chicks this year.) […]

Leave a Reply

Who’s Emma?


Hi! I live and work on a small winery in northern Italy but I also love to cook and eat. Welcome to the blog.

I’ve Moved

Because I no longer live in Paris, the blog has been given a complete rehaul. It's still a work in progress. Please excuse any broken links or typos.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,734 other followers

Instagram

Waves of #culatello! ...
#salumi #salami #charcuterie #italy "Careful! Watch out for the #dog. He drools and licks anyone!" 🐕 ...
#neighbourhood #myneighbourhood #friendlydog #dogsofinstagram #ineedoneofthose #italy

My Other Blog: Got Legs

“Vintage 2017 Report” Or “How To Protect Against Frost”

“Vintage 2017 Report” Or “How To Protect Against Frost”

It’s becoming an all-too-familiar scenario: a beautiful springtime with plenty of warm sunshine but followed by a sudden dip and freezing temperatures. A cold winter does marvels for the vineyard but once bud-burst has taken place, a cold snap can have catastrophic results. You may remember that I wrote about this already in 2016. Vintage 2016: […]

