Google+

Le Café des Musées, 75003

3

February 27, 2015 by Emma Bentley

Café-des-Musées2

So many people ask me where you can find steak-frites in Paris. Or where are the best escargots in the city?

For longer than I would care to admit, these questions had me scratching my head…. I have lived here for so long that I’m no longer craving these classic dishes. The restaurants where I tend to go are the more modern, trendy ones which change their menu every couple of weeks (if not more often than that even!) As a result, I can’t rely on them having a steady supply of foie gras, steak tartare and magret de canard (duck breast) to feed my out-of-town guests.

All is not lost. The Café des Musées on rue de Turenne is now my trump card!

Open for lunch and dinner every day of the week, and sporting a great classic French menu of all of the above, it’s now the first address to come rolling off my tongue.

(N.B. There’s also normally at least one vegetarian main course on the menu too.)

A main course will set you back about 20 euros, and once you’ve added on a starter and a healthy pichet of wine, you’re looking at about 35 euros per person. That’s a pretty reasonable price, especially given the quality of the food and far better here than at the surrounding tourist traps.

Service is brisk yet friendly. You’ll be elbow-to-elbow with your neighbour at the adjacent table…. but then that’s what you wanted, didn’t you? The true Parisian experience!

 


Essential Information

Address: 49 rue de Turenne, 75003
Telephone: 01 42 72 96 17
WebsiteCafé des MusésGoogle+
Opening Hours: Open lunch and dinner Monday – Sunday. Yes, really!
Reservations: Recommended – call a day in advance to be sure of getting a table.
3 thoughts on “Le Café des Musées, 75003

  1. emilycommander says:

    Thank you – I’m about to go to Paris and never know where to go: this looks as if it’s just the thing I was looking for.

  2. […] out Café des Musées if you happen to be on the rive droite / Marais area. They also offer a traditional menu but […]

Leave a Reply

Who’s Emma?


Hi! I live and work on a small winery in northern Italy but I also love to cook and eat. Welcome to the blog.

I’ve Moved

Because I no longer live in Paris, the blog has been given a complete rehaul. It's still a work in progress. Please excuse any broken links or typos.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,756 other followers

Instagram

This is how #Sardinia does a Caprese Salad: tomato, ricotta, basil pesto and bottarga! 
#italy #insalatacaprese #bottarga #eatlocal #eatseasonal #castelsardo #ilcormorano Blue on blue - no filters needed in #Sardinia!
#beach #sea #swimming #holidays #summer #blue #nature

My Other Blog: Got Legs

Jura – still so much to be discovered

Jura – still so much to be discovered

I was in the Jura region last month on a quick getaway with my boyfriend and the dog. It was not my first time in the region, but it was my first stay long enough to develop a decent understanding of the land, its people and their wine. The Jura is in a small pocket […]

