Google+

Excerpt of “Why We Women Owe It To Ourselves To Learn Self-Defence”

1

May 11, 2015 by Emma Bentley

IMG_20150123_211816

It’s not exactly a catchy title… but my experience from January 2015 deserves to be shared and used as a warning.

It happened after hailing a regular Parisian cab on the street…. that very rare time that a car showing a green light actually stops for you!

I’ve probably taken thousands of cabs in my life. This one was the one bad apple.

On my tours, I’ve heard stories of taxis taking clients on a much longer route just to get more money. I’ve also heard of drivers being unnecessarily rude and downright unpleasant. Thankfully Uber and Chaffeur Privé have shown them how it should be done; fingers crossed the cabbies will up their game.

In any case, let me reassure you that this level of violence is exceptionally rare for Paris…. but my experience shows that, just sometimes, it does happen.

“It was an opportunistic robbery. He saw me say goodbye to my friends before getting into his taxi. He may have noticed that we were all a little drunk. I was wearing high heels and a short leather skirt. It was 2am and there was no-one in the street in front of my house.

The heel of his right hand made contact with my left eye. He promptly felt my right knee hit hard between his legs. He recoiled and I was able to run to safety.

Had I not have had the reflex to put two hands on his shoulder and my knee firmly in his groin, the story may have had a different outcome. I was lucky. His swing hit my bone socket rather than the eye or nose. It hurt but not too badly. I am absolutely sure that he was not expecting me to fight back.”

Full article on Medium.

11398_844128462310967_6555135253430964432_n

To take a self-defence class in Paris, I heartily recommend Ladies System Defense.

One thought on “Excerpt of “Why We Women Owe It To Ourselves To Learn Self-Defence”

  1. […] of the positive outcomes of my unfortunate incident with a taxi driver was an introduction to Christopher […]

Leave a Reply

Who’s Emma?


Hi! I live and work on a small winery in northern Italy but I also love to cook and eat. Welcome to the blog.

I’ve Moved

Because I no longer live in Paris, the blog has been given a complete rehaul. It's still a work in progress. Please excuse any broken links or typos.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,748 other followers

Instagram

All these grapes are #handharvested but when the #pergolaveronese #vineyard is so high, sometimes you have to use a little heavy machinery! 
#wine #naturalwine #AngiolinoMaule #LaBiancara #harvest17 #vendemmia2017 #garganega #veneto #italy #winelover The eyes of the one who wants a sandwich. 🐾
#dogsofinstagram #1yearold #vendemmia2017 #harvest17 🚜🍇🍞🍇🐩

My Other Blog: Got Legs

La Vigne du Perron – KATAPNHA 2009

La Vigne du Perron – KATAPNHA 2009

Once upon a time, for a fortunately very brief moment, the wine world that I was surrounded by was full of English men in red trousers (tendentially) boasting about the old vintages that they’d recently (or not so recently) tasted. The conversation would go something like: > “Oh, don’t you remember how wonderful the Chateau […]

